This is the old Pollen Shop website.
The new Pollen Shop website can be found here.
The Pollen Shop

Home > Accessible Web Services > WCAG : WCAG Standards

WCAG Standards

The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0 are the internationally accepted standard for web accessibility. They are written by the W3C - World Wide Web Consortium. The W3C provide detailed resources on these guidelines which can be found at WCAG Resources. The following is taken from W3C

The "Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0" are a W3C specification providing guidance on accessibility of Web sites for people with disabilities. They have been developed by the W3C's Web Accessibility Initiative. The specification contains fourteen guidelines which are general principles of accessible design. Each guideline is associated with one or more checkpoints describing how to apply that guideline to particular features of Web pages. An appendix to the guidelines, "List of Checkpoints for the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0" presents the checkpoints sorted by priority for easy reference. These guidelines not only make pages more accessible to people with disabilities, but also have the side benefit of making pages more accessible to all users, or to users using different browsers or one of the emerging handheld or voice-based computers.

Taken from Fact Sheet for "Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0